Who’s Jersey Are You Wearing

The outrage in Tampa the last few days has been the release of Derrick Brooks from the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Football team.  The team has had similar reactions in the past as fan favorites were injured, retired, released in the likes of the A train Mike Allstot and John Lynch.  Where did our heroes go and why?  This upheaval has happened many times over in the past and will continue many more times in the future.

While growing up, I recall one of the most crazy changes in sports history.  The all-time greatest hockey player, Wayne Gretzky had been traded from the Edmonton Oilers to the LA Kings.  How could they?  He was such an important and vital part of that team.  I had all things Gretzky, I collected all things Gretzky and now he was not an Oiler.  I had a jersey with his name on it.  I have a Bucs jersey with Lynch on it.  Now what? Longoria gone from the Rays, or Pujols gone from the Cardinals?

I know a hero who won’t change teams.  He will not let us down.  He will not get injured. He will not quit.  He will not retire.  I think the name on my jersey will be: JESUS

Leave a Reply

